The 485 Sports Report


Shootout Round 6: Faggart, Crouse win

Donnie Icenhour is the Faster Pastor

Semi-Pro drivers race side-by-side on a restart during Round 6 of the Bojangles\' Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway. CMS/John Davison photo - See more at:,photo_gallery/cat_id,51400?sf_id=25402#sthash.hN9Xx8nX.dpuf
Semi-Pro drivers race side-by-side on a restart during Round 6 of the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway.
CMS/John Davison photo
CONCORD, N.C. – Local pastors took over the frontstretch quarter-mile oval of Charlotte Motor Speedway as Donnie Icenhour of Rocky River Church scored the win for the Faster Pastor race in the sixth round of the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout Series. Sheldon Crouse and Robbie Faggart were among the winners in the full slate of Legend Car and Bandolero feature events.
In the most action-packed school bus slobberknocker of the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout season, Icenhour steered his five-ton bus past the competition and into Victory Lane to claim the title of Faster Pastor Tuesday night.

The race was marred by one caution, when race leader David Henderson, of Venture Church, made contact with Icenhour’s bus, causing Henderson’s bus to flip on its side racing into Turn 4. Unfazed, Henderson climbed into a backup bus and continued the race, finishing eighth.
Following the restart, Icenhour traded the top spot with Scott Davis of Pitts Baptist Church, before ultimately taking the lead for good with two laps remaining.
“It was a great night. It started out a little shaky, but then I let Jesus take the wheel,” Icenhour said. “This is awesome because it’s my boy’s birthday. He was my good luck charm.”
Davis followed Icenhour across the stripe to finish second, with Don Newman (Memorial United Methodist Church), Jeff Bates (Elevation Church) and Scott Gentry (Motor Racing Outreach) rounding out the Top 5.
Robbie Faggart dominated the Security Force Masters division, taking home his first win of the season. After a quick 20-laps, Jon Craig who was running in second and closing the gap on Faggart, spun out on the frontstretch, bringing out a caution. Craig did not return to the track after the caution, but Faggart continued to lead. Tom Pistone gave Faggart a good run in the final five laps. On the final lap, Faggart lost control in both Turn 1 and Turn 4, but the veteran driver gained control and crossed the finish line, earning himself a trip to Victory Lane. Pistone finished second followed by current points leader Scott Whitaker.
The Masters race also saw former Daytona 500 winner Ernie Irvan make his 2015 Bojangles’ Summer Shootout debut, where he finished 13th. Named one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers of All Time in 1998, Irvan is no stranger to the Summer Shootout, where his son, Jared Irvan, is a regular competitor in the Human Tuning Group Legend Car Pro division.
“Other times I’ve run at Charlotte Motor Speedway, I’ve usually run a little bit better,” Irvan said after his race. “I haven’t run anything in 15 years, and I’ve never run these cars. It was just different. I need to do a little bit more of it,” adding that he hopes to be back this summer.
Crouse took home his third consecutive win in the Tuesday night Semi-Pro feature.
The 25-lap race reached its time limit and ended on lap 24 with the race’s sixth caution. The division’s points leader, John Holleman IV, finished 11th after being involved in multiple collisions throughout the race.
Matthew Craig and Devin O’Connell also led laps during the feature, but it was ultimately Crouse who came out victorious. Stevie Johns Jr. took second place and Devin O’Connell finished third.
Other winners included Josh Speas in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits division, Daniel Wilk in the Livewell Homes Bandits division, Blaise Brinkly in the Bandolero Outlaw division, Chase Purdy in the Young Lions division and Evan Swilling in the Human Tuning Group Pro division.
The Bojangles’ Summer Shootout racing action continues at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Tuesday, July 14, with the Little Luggies 600. Children ages 4-7 will have the opportunity to race around Charlotte Motor Speedway’s frontstretch quarter mile. For more information on the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout Series call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit the website.

Unofficial Results:
Beginner Bandolero (18 laps): 1. Josh Speas; 2. Jason Chapman; 3. Tyler Chapman; 4. Jacob Putnam; 5. Mason Dejarnett; 6. Byers Faunce; 7. Kailey Murray; 8. Conner Jones; 9. Parker Eatmon; 10. Zachary Miracle; 11. Jackson Moore; 12. Jaiden Reyna; 13. Tyler Bartoszewicz; 14. Adam Eades; 15. Stanley Hays; 16. Trevor Wester; 17. Jacob Gantz
Semi-Pro (25 laps): 1. Sheldon Crouse; 2. Stevie Johns Jr.; 3. Devin O’Connell; 4. Conner Pyle; 5. Sprout Royal; 6. Matthew Craig; 7. Taylor Jorgenson; 8. Scott Joy; 9. Jordan Mander; 10. John Holleman IV; 11. Hannah Bell; 12. Holden German; 13. John Davis; 14. Jordan Stillwell; 15. Austin Langenstein; 16. Jensen Jorgensen; 17. Enrique Limon; 18. Gus Dean; 19. Craig Biryla; 20. Joshua Plummer
LiveWell Homes Bandits (20 laps): 1. Daniel Wilk; 2. DJ Canipe; 3. Cameron Bolin; 4. William Robusto; 5. Bryson Ruff; 6. Tommy Good; 7. Josh Kossek; 8. Leland Honeyman; 9. George Hayes; 10. Dylan Notaro; 11. Steven Chapman; 12. Blaise Maddox; 13. Blake Cisneros; 14. Isabella Robusto; 15. Landon Rapp; 16. Carson Kvapil; 17. Hunter Hutchens
Bandolero Outlaws (20 laps) 1. Blaise Brinkley; 2. Jordan Plummer; 3. Austin Green; 4. Matthew Eades; 5. Trevor Rizzo; 6. Gracie Trotter; 7. Bradyn Mander; 8. Connor Younginer; 9. Matthew Emery; 10. Elysia Potter; 11. Alberto Limon; 12. Ashton Higgins; 13. Justin Taylor; 14. Matthew Davey; 15. Roy Hayes; 16. Liz Montgomery; 17. Seth Henry; 18. Ashley Pantoulas
Security Force Masters (25 laps): 1. Robbie Faggart; 2. Tom Pistone; 3. Scott Whitaker; 4. Bruce Silver; 5. Akinori Ogata; 6. Carl Cormier; 7. Tom Sherman; 8. Chip Ferguson; 9. Ron Mander; 10. Jamie Smith; 11. Jan Ingram; 12. Herman Towe; 13. Ernie Irvan; 14. Charles Parker; 15. Jon Craig.
Young Lions (20 laps): 1. Chase Purdy; 2. Alex Reese; 3. Ryan Millington; 4. Dawson Cram; 5. Jacob Heafner; 6. Sam Mayer; 7. Carson Pointdexter; 8. Garret Manes; 9. Eddie Fastscher; 10. Jack Fread; 11. Austin Green.
Body Mechanic Human Tuning Group PRO (25 laps): 1. Evan Swilling; 2. Joey Padgett; 3. Jared Irvan; 4. Jordan Black; 5. Michael Torres; 6. Greg Lang; 7. Zane Smith; 8. Josh Williams; 9. Dillon Faggart; 10. Alex Murray; 11. Reid Wilson.

Area III Legion Playoffs continue

Game 3 of Round 2 in the Area III American Legion Baseball playoffs are scheduled today. All but one series have the higher seed with a 2-0 lead in the best of five round. High Point, the number two seed, is tied 1-1 with Winston-Salem.

Tuesday scores

Rowan County 7 Mocksville-Davie 3

Eastern Randolph 8 Kernersville 5

Randolph County 4 Davidson County 3

Winston-Salem 9 High Point 8

Rowan County is the top seed.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

485 Sports is a part of Radio Free Cabarrus and Cabarrus Sports Marketing, based in Concord, N.C. For questions and more information email

Our sponsors

Cannon Pharmacy
Pizza Hut
Ben Mynatt
McGill Baptist Church
Independent Tribune
Wilkinson Funeral Home

Copyright © 2019 485 Sports Report, a division of Radio Free Cabarrus and Cabarrus Sports Marketing, Concord, N.C.

To Top